Skip to content

The “Paper Girls” Speak Out

December 20, 2010

Here are a few comments from “paper girls” in response to the recent Safe Havens story:

From Celeste Kaseburg, Phoenix, AZ:

I delivered papers as a kid in Estherville, IA. It was a pretty easy route overall except it was kind of hilly and that wasn’t fun in the winter. Not only was it cold but traction with my snow boots just didn’t cut it sometimes on ice.

I always hated it when I wouldn’t get enough papers for my route. I would pick who wasn’t going to get a paper that day and it usually was the people who were mean. The memory that sticks out the most is the abandoned, run down house that I had to walk by every day. I always liked to stop in there and walk around inside. It looked like a castle to me from the outside and I always wondered who lived there and how much money they had to have such an amazing house. I also remember this house really didn’t look like it belonged there, it was so different from all the other homes.

From Dawn Marie Thompson, Chicago, Illinois:

Sometimes back in the mid sixties, I “helped” our neighborhood postman deliver the mail (held it for him from the last mail box to the next mail box). After about 3 houses, he would give me a penny or two and sometimes even a nickel! That was 1 or 2 pieces of candy, but on the nickel days it was a Reese’s peanut butter cup.

From Ann (Di Napoli) DiNella, Massachusetts:

I’m writing to you because I just read your commentary in the Patriot Ledger, posted Dec. 12. I wanted to thank you for the memory! I grew up on North Bowditch Street. The Abraham Lincoln School was my elementary. The field below the “sledding hill” holds fond memories for me also. I remember walking to McGinnis’s corner store on Shaw Street and the little “corner store” on Hayward Street. Both were on my daily paper route. I’m sure I saw you on your route. Lincoln was & still is a landmark and a memory holder! I’ll always remember the great “field days” they had. And after…The LINCOLN LOONIES! Thanks for the memory journey. I will always be an East Braintree girl.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

